A mildly humerous take…

I know people want an update on how Adam is doing…we would like one too. Monday, I took him to the hospital for all the pretesting needed for his surgery. We learned a few things: 1. His file does not say he has cancer, or no one read that part – we had to tell each nurse, tech, and intake staffer. They were all wonderful as they used him as a pin cushion. 2. Ultrasounds are much less fun, and infinitely harder to interpret, when they are not done for the purposes of looking at a baby. Adam told his brother that “it’s a boy…or a liver…or something.” It turns out that the ultrasound is mostly for the surgeon’s information – he wants to know if he needs to biopsy anything during surgery. Either way, we don’t have any new info, and the ultrasound only shows the location of the cyst (which is very likely nothing to worry about), not details about it. Annoying, but there you have it. 3. Adam is a zombie. Seriously – he had no readings when they hooked him to the EKG machine and he started saying “don’t be creepy, don’t be creepy” and laughing like a lunatic. He didn’t try to eat anyone’s brains, so he isn’t too far gone yet. When he sang (the theme from Sesame Street, for those who are interested in little details), the machine registered something – perhaps a complaint? applause? We’re not sure. Finally, it started working, the tech came in and removed four tubes of blood while laughing at the machine, and Adam finally got to drink something – Mt. Dew. He was ecstatic. The hospital gives out Mt. Dew! This is great! So, we have the special antibacterial soap to reduce the chance of infection, he doesn’t have to shave his beard – though the anesthesiologist may do so on Friday, and we have the other prep medicines ready for him. We are now just waiting. He feels pretty good – other than the stress and worry that pop up unexpectedly. So that is the medical report.

In other news of life, we have family scheduled to visit over the next few weeks – our kids can’t decide if they’re more excited about grandparent visits or more worried about Daddy. They are not doing horribly, but they are having a tough time. Our 10-year-old isn’t the easiest at the best of times, and last night, after repeatedly getting in trouble for little things, he broke down and cried out that he just wants “a good life! I don’t want you to have cancer!” Us either, love, us either. Adam talked to him, held him, and calmed him. Our 8-year-old has been alternately clingy and cranky. She got tearful several times over the last few days. I wish we had some solid promise to give them, but they have to endure this waiting with us. Thankfully, Adam feels good enough to play with them and be silly, so they’ve had lots of normal moments.

So, we’re doing well, all things considered. We are coping by blaming cancer for all things we dislike (lost tools, bad weather, windshield wipers than disintegrate before our eyes during a heavy rain), and the humor – inappropriate though it may seem at some moments – has been cathartic. We also continue to hear from dear friends and family from all over the country and from all parts of our life. Knowing that we stay important to each other despite the passing years and the distance between us has been more encouraging than I can say. Sometimes, there are no words – only tears…or laughter.

12 thoughts on “A mildly humerous take…

  1. Paul Buckner says:

    Lydia, thank you for this detailed update on Adam and the children. What about you? We will continue praying for you and your family. My prayer is that God will wrap his arms around you so you will feel his love and the love of your many friends and family from all across this vast land.

    Love you

    Aunt Faye

    Sent from my iPad

    • lydiatisdale says:

      I am the same, I guess. Things feel normal, then they don’t and I get sad or worried. Then I pray and I feel better – not good, perhaps, but better. I am thankful for the things that keep me busy enough that the waiting doesn’t feel so difficult.

  2. Carol Tisdale says:

    Lydia, please keep us posted and if there is anything at all I can do please say so. I am not very far away and would be more than happy to help. I am praying for you, Adam, and the children.

    • lydiatisdale says:

      Thanks Carol, I will keep everyone posted and we will let you know if and when we need anything. It is a huge comfort to know that family is close, willing, and praying! Love you!

  3. Michael Tisdale says:

    We have in our prayers. We have fought brain cancer for the last year with our daughter in law .
    Too date God has won the battle. Cancer free to this point.

  4. Ray Carlson says:

    My sister (2x cancer survivor) blames EVERYTHING on ‘da cancer’. If she wants to eat your last piece of chicken it’s because “You know I got da cancer”. If she wants to watch a different TV show than you it’s because “You know I got da cancer”. So a little humor is OK, I think.

  5. acwalsman says:

    Lydia, I’m so sorry to hear about the cancer. I can relate to your son (” I just want a good life, I don’t want you to have cancer!”), just other things in our life. Crisis of faith here lately, something going really wrong, and it becomes harder to praise. I’ve realized personally the shallowness of my faith, so easy to give thanks in the good, so hard in the trial. My prayer and hope is that God would do a work in me to cause me to consider as the apostle James does, that every trial is a “good and perfect gift”. (I was amazed when I read that verse in James 1 IN CONTEXT) Praying for you all that you might feel Him holding you through this, and praying for swift healing. Love, Abby (I know Steve is thinking of you all and praying as well)

  6. Shakespeare, you’re the best.
    I can’t say “who knew”; I knew.
    We love you guys so very, very much .. and are just sitting here before Abba’s throne in a perpetual audience talking with Him about you, Adam, & the precious ones.
    Keep illustrating to us that Abba loves you.
    Keep hearing yourself say and see it.
    You and yours are a gift of an enormous and eternal magnitude.

    • lydiatisdale says:

      Love you, Harvey! Thank you – for seeing me, for showing me, and for reminding me of who I am, whose I am, and what I know. And for loving and praying for us. God bless.

  7. Fran Rice says:

    Thanks for sharing – I grinned when you mentioned that the beard so far hasn’t been removed becaused I thought “how are they getting to that colon?” I didn’t think a shave would be necessary but what do I know? I am glad that you can still laugh and play. We love you guys – The Rices

  8. Denise says:

    Lydia we love you and your family and we are praying for each of you, as you hold up each other through a challenging time. Psalm 119, Yodh (73-77)
    Uncle Ronnie and family

Leave a Reply

