It’s nice to be back….

Last week was…well, it might as well have not existed at all. We were all sick, but we are now better and I am finding that my brain is considering working again. Ah…bliss…a working brain. In addition, I received an early Christmas present on Saturday! Two of my favorite people – my brother and his wife – presented our family with a new girl child! I can’t wait to meet my beauteous niece! Ok, so she’s not really my Christmas present…but I’m more excited about her arrival (and the impending arrival of her cousin – my sister and her husband are also expecting) than I am about my new ipad mini. And that’s sayin’ something! So I don’t remember much of last week – and what I do remember of the time at home is less than pleasant – but the week is over and I’m moving on…and there is a new baby to snuggle when I visit my brother and his wife in a few weeks! So. It’s good to have a brain again!

But what will I do with said brain? Will I catch up on a week of cleaning that didn’t get done? Will I finish decorating for Christmas? Will I finish shopping for Christmas? Not yet. First, I will spend an inordinate amount of time typing something, anything really, on this blog so that I will again feel like I am a writer. Because writers write and those who write are writers. Even if we aren’t always good, or great, or even readable. Words on paper is enough for now…even if it’s actually words on a screen and no paper is involved. I could write about buying a reindeer costume on ebay and the resultant need to create my third ebay profile…because I couldn’t come up with a user name, password, email or paypal account for the first two. But that is just irritating…. I expound upon my irrational love of punctuating with ellipses, but only grammar nerds will care…. I could wax poetical about nieces and nephews – who are easier to be poetical about than daughters and sons because I don’t have to see them be bad and they don’t interrupt my sleep – but I already did that a little. I could expostulate about school and grades and struggles and frustrations and baby steps forward and back, but I’ll save that for a time when I’m not wanting to enjoy a good, giddy mood.

So I’ll simply say, as I’m on my way out the door to do the school pick-up thing, that I’m very glad to feel better and I’m very glad it’s Christmas time. I hope you are too. On both counts.

4 thoughts on “It’s nice to be back….

  1. Cindy says:

    Glad that everyone is feeling better…that’s certainly a reason to celebrate! Congrats on the safe arrival of your niece too.:)

    We didn’t do flu shots either. My justification is that the couple of times I did get it, I came down with a strain that wasn’t covered by the vaccine. And the years that I didn’t get a shot…no flu at all! Yeah, I know it was the luck of the draw and all that but hey, it sounds like a good reason. We’ll see how it goes this year. MG is sick and the diagnosis we got this morning from the doc was strep AND the flu. I have an awful feeling my “reason” is going to bite me in the butt.

    • lydiatisdale says:

      The last time we had the flu in the family (two years ago), the kids got one not covered by the vaccine…which I think they’d gotten that year. This is the first year that I’ve ever gotten the flu that I remember…that is probably the real reason for my laziness in not getting the shots. I’m so sorry MG is sick – I hope it doesn’t get to the rest of you. Did they recommend Tamiflu for everyone? They did that for us 2 years ago…this year Adam and I were too far in to the illness for it to be worth it. Which was good. Because with our insurance, it’s over $100 for each person. Oh joy. Flu shots are cheaper…. 🙂

      • Cindy says:

        No…he didn’t say anything about Tamiflu for everyone. He mentioned it for her but said since her flu symptoms weren’t too bad (as long as she has Motrin in her she’s okay…but when it wears off, like the middle of last night, she’s a wreck!) he’d prefer that she didn’t take it. I think he was more concerned about the strep. This is her second case of it in the last month. Life with kids….never dull!

      • lydiatisdale says:

        Ugh…dull might be nice for a day or two! Feel better MG – no more strep!!!

Leave a Reply

