Favorite Quotations…just for fun!

These may or may not remind me of myself and the people around me…and I may or may not have been thinking about them all day as I ran errands.

“I accept all superlatives!” – A character in the TV show Columbo, who was, not for nothin’, just accused of being “the most irritating woman.” It is apparently better to be superlatively irritating than moderately…anything!

“Parents are not interested in fair, parents are interested in quiet!” – Bill Cosby Himself

“So she sent me to my room. Which is where I wanted to be in the first place! So you see: we are dumb, but we are not so dumb.” – Bill Cosby Himself – speaking of fathers in this case…so this may, possibly, remind me of my dear, sweet, intelligent, loving, but occasionally manipulative, husband.

“Because it’s humiliating. A new amendment we vote on declaring that I am equal under the law to a man, I am mortified to discover there’s reason to believe I wasn’t before. I am a citizen of this country, I am not a special subset in need of your protection. I do not have to have my rights handed down to me by a bunch of old, white, men. The same Article 14 that protects you, protects me, and I went to law school just to make sure.” – Ainsley Hayes The West Wing – See? A liberal show can portray a conservative character as smart and sympathetic! And a lot of the liberal points have merit too…just sayin’.

“…the trouble is, humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things that are worst for them.” – Dumbledore Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

“…in general it has been the men who have done the raping and the robbing and the killing and the war-mongering for the last two thousand years…. and it’s been the men who have done the pillaging and the beheading and the subjugating of whole races into slavery. It has been the men who have done the law making and the money making and the most of the mischief making! So if the world isn’t quite what you had in mind you have only yourselves to thank!!” – Julia Sugarbaker Designing Women – Sometimes, I just love a good rant! I love the response Julia’s love interest gives too: “Well let me tell you something about women…. They’re always late.” So there. You told us Reece!

“And it also makes me smile to know that there is a grinning ex-con walking the golden streets who knows more about grace than a thousand theologians. No one else would have given him a prayer. But in the end that is all he had. And in the end, that is all it took. No wonder they call him the savior.” Max Lucado No Wonder They Call Him the Savior

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, 21 to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” – Ephesians 3:20-21 NKJV – I ruminate on how much more that is than all I can ask or think…’cause I can think of and ask for A LOT.

 

What are your favorites? I’m quitting now, though there are myriad more out there! And these are just the short ones….

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Favorite Quotations…just for fun!

  1. I like the Bill Cosby quote. Quiet is good.

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m surprised you did not have more Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

