Jed Bartlett for President

“Because I’m tired of it[:] year after year after year after year having to chose between the lesser of who cares[.] Of trying to get myself excited about a candidate who can speak in complete sentences. Of setting the bar so low, I can hardly look at it. They say a good man can’t get elected President. I don’t believe that, do you?” Leo McGarry from The West Wing.

 
I didn’t watch the debate. I can’t watch any politician speak without wanting to poke myself in the eye with a fork a la Ruprect in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. (Thank goodness for cork and eye patches.) So maybe one or both of the men who are running for president are “good men.” What I do know is that the political system never shows me anything but the sound bite and I hate those. I hate lowered expectations, 10 word answers and simplified plans. We’re smart enough to be part of the political process; if we need to be spoon-fed we shouldn’t be voting. And not for nothing: no one is perfect and if we insist on candidates who are able to look like they are, we will never have anything but smarmy, charming people with a very distant relationship to truth and authenticity. Be careful what you ask for…. So now I’ll go watch re-runs of The West Wing, because it really might be my favorite show of all time.

Leave a Reply

