Belatedly Giving Credit

The subtitle of the blog, “Sometimes life is a grim and thankless job” is borrowed from yet another of my favorite books. This one, The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley, has been a friend for at least 20 years. The direct quote (with enough context to almost make sense) is “I was stubborn, and no, frankly, I was not one of Goriolo’s most brilliant and promising pupils. But I survived on that stubbornness and stayed with my master long enough to learn more than most of the ones who had greater gifts to begin with and then went off and got themselves killed or became sheep farmers because the life of a mage is such a grim and thankless one.” (Italics mine, of course.) It’s about staying the course and trusting a calling. It is also, as the Beetles once sang, about “words that go together well.” Thanks Luthe. (The mage in question. Did I mention that I like fantasies?)

Leave a Reply

